Sick Day

I don’t like to take sick days from work, I suppose because on some level I’ve always felt like I’m abandoning my students or something. However, I’ve come to realize a couple of things as I grow older. One, the world revolves with or without me, and this includes my students…they will survive without my blessed presence. Two, that the noble sacrifice of my health for their benefit is not necessary, nor as appreciated as I’d like, or fair to my body and my mental health. Not to mention that if you don’t nip illness in the bud then it can snowball and become a much bigger deal and a longer recovery down the road, this I know from experience. Therefore I have changed my perspective on taking sick days, and see them for what they are, a right and a privilege I deserve and one which I am grateful to be able to take advantage of.

About Stacey in Alaska

The experiences, photography, travelogue, and musings of an ordinary person in an extraordinary place.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment